top of page

Did you know that...?

The prevalence of the virus in Canada

In Canada,40% to 70% of individuals are carriers of type 1 herpes, and 6% to 19% are carriers of type 2.

 

Most ignore it because they are asymptomatic. This accentuates the stigma surrounding herpes since many people believe that it is not a common STBBI, although it is one of the most widespread.

Factors favoring recurrences

Each person reacts differently to the virus. So what may be a trigger for one person may not be for another.

The factors that can cause recurrences are, among others, stress, lifestyle, prolonged exposure to the sun, menstruation or hormonal changes, a recent operation, as well as problems affecting the immune system.

 

It is recommended to try to maintain a healthy lifestyle, for example, eat well, have restful sleep, exercise, develop stress management strategies, etc.

graphique.png
pills.png

Possible treatments

Antiviral drugs are very effective in reducing the possibilities of virus activation. It remains an individual choice to take them and there are also other ways to avoid transmission. If antiviral treatment is an option, here's what is available:

 

1. Episodic treatment which must be taken as soon as possible at the onset of symptoms, or even prodromes. This treatment is effective in terms of recurrences and also increases the healing speed of lesions.

 

2.   Suppressive/continuous treatment, which consists of taking an average of one pill a day, and which reduces the number of recurrences, the possibilities of transmission, and the periods of asymptomatic excretion.

This treatment reduces the probabilities of transmission to 1.1% per year, with or without condom use.

Blood tests

prise_de_sang.png

Without symptoms, the only possible screening test for the herpes virus is a blood test. However, the results associated with serology are nebulous and interpretable. Indeed, there is the possibility of getting false positives or false negatives.

 

The test aims to detect the presence of antibodies that are fighting the virus in the body. It can determine the type of herpes the person is potentially carrying, but not the area where the virus is active.

 

In addition, the emotional burden that a diagnosis of herpes causes can be quite significant. For this reason, most healthcare professionals recommend waiting for symptoms to appear before having blood tests. The most effective screening is the culture of lesions, which must be done within 24 to 48 hours of their appearance.

Terms and their connotations 

during the disclosure of herpes

Some sentencing may sound less pejorative when disclosure of status. The words chosen tend to influence the perception of the person receiving the information.

 

Saying for example: I live with the herpes virus, or I am a carrier of the virus instead of I have herpes. Talk about possibilities of transmissions rather than risks, recurrences instead of attacks or infections.

Talk about the strategies already in place, such as medication if this is the case. Draw a parallel between cold sores (in the mouth) and genital herpes: it's the same virus, but some people don't know it. This can help to de-dramatize.

Disclosure, is it mandatory?

dévoilement.png

In Canada, there is currently no law that requires a person to disclose their herpes diagnosis. It is a personal choice.

There have been a few cases of lawsuits in Quebec, but these are very rare because the person suing must be able to prove that he or she was not a carrier of the virus before the sexual encounter.

 

This is very difficult because the virus can lie dormant in the body for several years.

icon.png
Condom.png

Herpès génital et grossesse

It is entirely possible for a person to be pregnant and give birth while living with genital herpes. All it takes is careful monitoring with the health care provider and taking the suppressive treatment at the 36th week. If necessary, delivery by cesarean will be indicated.

Transmission via everyday objects

The herpes virus is not transmitted through everyday objects such as toilet seats, towels, utensils or bed sheets. The virus breaks down very quickly when it is outside the human body.

 

It would take immediate contact as well as an entry point for transmission to occur in this manner. Indirect transmission is rather exceptional since it does not involve optimal conditions.

Preventive methods

Different prevention methods are possible and can be even more effective when used in combination. External condoms can prevent direct skin-to-skin contact, but they do not always cover all areas that may be infected with the virus. It depends on where the lesions are located. In some cases, an internal condom may be more effective since it covers a larger area of skin.

Lubricant may also be recommended as it reduces friction that could cause additional entry points for the virus. It's a matter of figuring out which methods work best for you and your situation.

 

Some people prefer to abstain from sexual contact during recurrences, and others simply favor other sexual practices (mutual masturbation, erotic massage). It is entirely up to the person's discretion. If you wish, you can discuss the matter with your partner(s).

enceinte.png
bottom of page

Saviez-vous que…?

La prévalence du virus au Canada

Au Canada, 40% à 70% des individus seraient porteurs/porteuses de l'herpès de type 1, et 6% à 19% seraient porteurs/porteuses du type 2.

 

La plupart l'ignorent car iels sont asymptomatiques. Cela accentue la stigmatisation qui l'entoure puisque plusieurs personnes croient qu'il ne s'agit pas d'une ITSS commune, alors que c'est l'une des plus répandues.

Les facteurs favorisant les récurrences

Chaque personne réagit différemment au virus. Ainsi, ce qui peut être un déclencheur chez une personne ne l’est pas nécessairement pour une autre.

Les facteurs pouvant causer des récurrences sont, entre autres, le stress, l’hygiène de vie, une exposition prolongée au soleil, les menstruations ou changements hormonaux, une récente opération, de même que les problèmes affectant le système immunitaire.

 

Il est recommandé de tenter de maintenir une bonne hygiène de vie, par exemple, bien manger, avoir un sommeil réparateur, faire de l’exercice, développer des stratégies de gestion de stress, etc.

graphique.png
pills.png

Les traitements possibles

Il existe des médicaments antiviraux qui sont très efficaces pour réduire les possibilités d’activation du virus. Cela reste un choix individuel et il existe aussi d’autres façons d’éviter la transmission. Si cela est une option envisageable, voici ce qui est disponible :

 

1. Il existe le traitement épisodique qui doit être pris le plus tôt possible au moment de l’apparition des symptômes, ou même des prodromes. Ce traitement est efficace au niveau des récurrences et augmente également la vitesse de guérison des lésions.

 

2.  Il existe également le traitement suppressif, qui consiste à prendre en moyenne une pilule par jour, et qui diminue le nombre de récurrences, les possibilités de transmission, et les périodes d’excrétion asymptomatique. 

Ce traitement réduit les probabilités de transmission à 1,1 % par année, avec ou sans condom.

Les tests sanguins

prise_de_sang.png

Sans symptômes, le seul test de dépistage possible pour le virus de l’herpès est la prise de sang. Les résultats associés à la sérologie sont toutefois hasardeux et interprétables. C’est-à-dire qu’il y a la possibilité d’obtenir des faux positifs ou des faux négatifs.

 

Le test vient détecter la présence d’anticorps pour combattre le virus dans le corps. Cela peut déterminer le type d’herpès dont la personne serait potentiellement porteuse, mais pas la zone où le virus serait actif.

 

De plus, la charge émotionnelle que peut engendrer un diagnostic d’herpès peut être assez importante. C’est pour cette raison que la plupart des professionnel (le)s de la santé recommandent d’attendre l’apparition de symptômes avant de passer des tests sanguins. Le dépistage le plus efficace est la culture de lésions, qui doit être faite dans les 24h à 48h suivant leur apparition.

Les termes et leur connotation 

lors du dévoilement

Certaines formules de phrases peuvent sonner moins péjoratives lors du dévoilement. Les mots choisis ont tendance à influencer la perception de la personne qui reçoit l’information.

 

Dire par exemple : je vis avec le virus de l’herpès, ou je suis porteur/porteuse du virus au lieu de « j’ai l’herpès ». Parler de possibilités de transmissions plutôt que de risques, de récidives ou récurrences au lieu de crises ou infections.

Parler des stratégies déjà mises en place, comme par exemple, la médication si c’est le cas. Faire le parallèle entre feux sauvage (au niveau buccal) et herpès génital : il s’agit du même virus, mais certaines personnes ne le savent pas. Cela peut permettre de dédramatiser.

Le dévoilement, est-ce obligatoire ?

Au Canada, il n’existe actuellement aucune loi qui oblige une personne à dévoiler son diagnostic d’herpès. Il s’agit d’un choix personnel.

 

Quelques cas de poursuites ont été recensés au Québec, mais ces dernières sont  très rares car la personne qui poursuit doit être en mesure de prouver qu’elle-même n’était pas porteuse du virus avant la relation sexuelle. Cela est d’ailleurs très difficile puisque le virus peut être en dormance dans le corps pendant plusieurs années.

icon.png
Condom.png

Herpès génital et grossesse

Il est tout à fait possible pour une personne d’être enceinte et d’accoucher tout en ayant l’herpès au niveau génital. Il suffit d’avoir un suivi rigoureux avec son/sa professionnel(le) de la santé, et de prendre le traitement en mode suppressif à la 36ème semaine. Au besoin, l’accouchement par césarienne sera préconisé.  

dévoilement.png

La transmission par l’entremise 

des objets du quotidien

Le virus de l’herpès n’est pas transmissible par les objets de la vie de tous les jours, tels que les sièges de toilettes, les serviettes, les ustensiles ou les draps de lit. Le virus se désintègre très rapidement lorsqu’il se trouve en dehors du corps humain. Il faudrait un contact immédiat ainsi qu’une porte d’entrée pour qu’il y ait possibilité de transmission de cette manière. La transmission indirecte est plutôt exceptionnelle puisqu’elle n’implique pas des conditions optimales.

Les méthodes préventives

Différentes méthodes préventives sont possibles et ces dernières peuvent être encore plus efficaces lorsqu’elles sont combinées. Le condom peut permettre d’éviter le contact direct peau à peau, mais ce dernier ne permet pas toujours de recouvrir toutes les zones pouvant être affectées par virus. Tout dépend de l’endroit  où​ se situent les lésions. Dans certains cas, le condom interne peut être plus efficace puisqu’il recouvre une plus grande zone de la peau.

 

Le lubrifiant peut également être recommandé puisqu’il permet de diminuer les frictions pouvant causer des portes d’entrées supplémentaires pour le virus. Il s’agit de trouver quelles méthodes vous conviennent le mieux selon votre situation. Certaines personnes préfèrent s’abstenir de tout contact sexuel lors des récidives, et d’autres favorisent simplement d’autres pratiques sexuelles (masturbation mutuelle, massage érotique). Cela reste à la discrétion de chacun. Si vous le souhaitez, vous pouvez en discuter avec votre/vos partenaire(s).

enceinte.png